KKDeeplyRootedCutoutArtAppliedDrivenText

“Why do I do What I do?” is the starting point for this month’s topic of the Blog-o-Sphere Think Tank discussion.

Initially, this question stopped me in my tracks. How do I answer this? Then it became clear.

There is a force that is part of my personality. It drives who I am. I am compelled to be creative. I need to work with my hands because I find it fulfilling. I have done this for as long as I can remember. Whether it was coloring books and not staying inside the lines. Knitting and dropping a stitch. Sewing and needing to rip out crooked seams. Stained glass and dealing with glass fractures. Metalwork and melting bezels. With each exploration comes a fall; the proverbial scraping of the knee and then healing.

The joy of expression that I love is the creative process. Sure there are failures but that just means I am growing as an artist. If I wasn’t trying new things, I would remain stagnate and I find that unacceptable. As long as there is breath in my body, I am going to be making things, experimenting, learning and yes, growing.

Each of us are born with gifts; a particular talent or talents unique to who we are. I know this to be true. As I was meditating and reflecting earlier in this year, it was as if my eyes were opened and understanding grew like a sunrise in my mind. Maybe that’s where the expression “It dawned on me” came from….a glorious sunrise enveloping everything in bright warm light making the obscure visible. I finally knew and understood that I was given the gift to be an artist and express my interpretation of God’s creations.

Those who know my work, know I am drawn to trees. They are my muses. For years I attempted to interpret their unique beauty. Now I have found a niche through my Treescape and Botanical series to express my love of them.

TreescapePendantSacredTrees

Dendritic Opal Pendant Set in Sterling Silver from Treescapes

IMG_1601

Aspen cuff in Sterling Silver  from Botanicals

Please let me encourage all of you to find your inner gifts. They are there. You may already be using them. Or they may be fighting to come out. Either way, living deep within you is the drive and the force to be seen and heard. They are fighting to reach the surface of your being because they are an essential part of who you are. Listen. Allow those abilities to manifest. Will there be moments of disappointment and discouragement? Yes. These are inevitable as you seek to discover your gifts. Please do not let perceived failures dissuade you from your true path. Please ignore to the inner and outer critics. Be fearless.

Know this. Joy awaits you as your inner gifts awaken and grow with your loving attention and nurturing.

Now lets see what my fellow bloggers had to share on this topic:

Andes Cruz 

angelojones

Diana Bell

Until next time, aspire to be more as an artist and a person.

