IMG_5331 copy
Fulfilled
Treescapes
Photo by Daniel Krucoff

Since the end of last year, I have been working on a number of new Treescape pendants.  This is one I call Fulfilled.  At last Saturday’s trunk show, there were some interesting reactions to this piece.  I think people found it quite unusual with the stone set on one side and the tree piercing on the other with a faceted peridoit tube set.

It was a bit challenging to fabricate because the tree design required a backing to support it.  I did one in copper in the shape of the tree that was overlaid to the back. It certainly makes for an interesting hidden element.

Why did I call this one Fulfilled?  Well, I must admit this had been sitting on my bench for while.  I had started this during the Open Studio Tour last September, because I felt it was an interesting piece to discuss how the fabrication takes place.  Once I finished the piece, I definitely experienced a wonderful sense of fulfillment and so it earned that title.

The stone is Morrisonite, set in sterling silver that I’ve oxidized.

The finished work is fun and a definite eye catcher.

Stay tuned for more Treescapes.

Until next time, aspire to be more as an artist and a person.

