DenverArtMuseum
Denver  Art Museum
Photo by Daniel Krucoff

This past weekend was the last weekend for the Becoming Van Gogh exhibit. My friend, Nancy Bonig, told Dan & I this was a must see and so we bought tickets.

Saturday, January 19th, Dan & I enjoyed our Art Date.  It was a very special day that both of us thoroughly enjoyed.  I hurriedly jotted down a variety of Van Gogh’s quotes.

“Success comes from a string of failures.”

“I am an artist….those words naturally imply always seeking without ever fully finding.”

“Just let me be myself — and express severe, rough, yet true things with rough workmanship.”

It was a fascinating journey of his brief artistic time….just 10 years.  To see where he started at age 27 to where he evolved at age 37 was more than impressive.  I was deeply moved by one of his last paintings, completed just two weeks before he died.  After seeing some of Van Gogh’s works in person, hearing his story, and seeing his growth, I find myself wondering what seeds may have been planted that will cause my work to grow and change.

Before we left the museum, we stopped at the gift shop because I wanted to see some of Nancy’s works.  Her beautiful glass work tends to sell out quickly and I wondered if we would even be able to find any.  Fortunately, there were a few of her pieces and a couple of my favorites that she’s just started are those of the Denver skyline.

After we left the museum, we walked around downtown Denver, Dan taking a variety of photographs, one of which is pictured at the top of this post.  We enjoyed an early dinner at Maggiano’s Italian Restaurant before we headed home.

I find it so important for Dan & I to have these types of Art Dates.  It’s a great time for both of us to discuss our respective work, future plans and more.  Do any of you have regular Art Dates?  I certainly hope so, the benefits are priceless.

Until next time, aspire to be more as an artist and a person.

