TreescapeTowerFalls
Tower Falls
Treescapes
Photo by Daniel Krucoff

As you can tell by the images in this post, I am enamored with Tower Falls.  The Dendritic Opal stone in the Treescape pendant, captured my attention at this year’s Gem & Mineral Show in Denver.  The stone is fairly large and I have found that most woman are more comfortable wearing smaller art jewelry pieces.  When I bought this piece, I knew I would make something in my Treescape series to add to my personal collection.

The stone by itself was simply stunning.  It wasn’t until it was completed that I saw the representation of Tower Falls from Yellowstone National Park in it.  I thought it would be fun to share Dan’s photo from one of our trips to Yellowstone of this magnificent waterfall.

TowerFalls
Tower Falls
Yellowstone National Park
Photo by Daniel Krucoff

We have visited Yellowstone National Park a number of times and I always look forward to going back. When Dan took this photo, he hiked up a bit to get just the right angle. It’s one of my favorite photographs and hangs in our home.

TowerFallsAtYellowstone
Tower Falls in Stained Glass by Kathleen Krucoff

This stained glass window is one of my original works base on Dan’s photograph.  It’s a little difficult to tell from this photo but I did add some 3D affects by floating parts of the aspen leaves over the base image.  As I look at this window, which I completed about 3 or 4 years ago, I can see a number of things I would do differently.  I had some really nice glass to help with the waterfall and pool area.  I guess it’s normal to think about how we would rework some of our older works.

I do wonder what it is about Tower Falls that keeps calling to me.  I love water, the sound, the feel, the tranquility and churn of it.  I’m certain one day I will understand why this waterfall keeps reappearing in my life and work.

Until next time, aspire to be more as an artist and a person.

