Reaching For The Sky
Treescapes
Photo by Daniel Krucoff

I am happy to announce that three pieces from my Treescape Series have been accepted into the Arvada Center’s  2013 exhibit entitled Art of the State, a juried exhibition of Colorado artists.  Last month, Sean Brown shared with our group, Colorado Creative Connections on Facebook, the call for entries for this exhibit.  Reading the prospectus, I thought this would be a great venue for my work to be seen, so I applied.  It is such an honor for me to have my work selected from all of the entries.   There were 588 artist applications with 1,635 works submitted.  The jurors selected 195 artworks by 162 artists.  I know there are times in our lives, as artists, that this kind of affirmation is truly humbling and this certainly is for me.

Reaching for the Sky, pictured at the top of this post, is the one of the three pendants that will be shown in this upcoming exhibit.  The stone is one of my favorites, Dendritic Opal.  Those little dendrites formed another beautiful tree, that I see reaching for the sky.  In the upper left hand corner of this stone I see a subdued sun.  The setting is sterling silver with a light oxidation.


The Journey
Treescapes
Photo by Daniel Krucoff

Next in the group is a beautifully pale Porcelain Jasper.  I see a bluff in the background, pale pink & lavender sky with a few clouds.  The white plains leading up to the bluff have some scattered rocks and there is the trail leading one to the bluff.  In my mind, I envision a great journey to get there.  A small evolution in Treescapes here, no trees!  I did texture the back plate of this setting and added the wire frame that gives it some of the characteristics found in Treescapes.


Still Standing
Treescapes
Photo by Daniel Krucoff

You may remember Still Standing from an earlier post this past July….my tribute to the fire fighters who battled the Waldo Canyon Fire.  Amethyst sage set in sterling silver with a faceted amethyst tube set.

It certainly seems that 2013 will be a remarkable year.  All three of these Treescape pendants will be on display and available for sale at the Arvada Exhibit that will run from January to March 2013.  I will provide more details as the dates draw near.

Until next time, aspire to be more as an artist and a person.

