Time Stands Still
Treescapes
Photo by Daniel Krucoff

Returning to the Dendritic Opal stone family with this piece.  Dendritic Opals were the original inspiration for this series. A family of tree shapes take up residence around this lovely stone. This time I added a small silver accent in the upper left corner as a representation of the sun or moon, depending on one’s mood.

Set in sterling silver that I’ve oxidized with a liver of sulphur application.

The dendrites formed a solitary tree a bit off-center in this stone.  As I looked at the finished piece, it spoke to me about a moment captured in time.  The kind of thing that happens every time we take a photograph.  That instance is preserved on film or digitally; a second of frozen time.  As I thought about this, Time Stands Still seemed to be an appropriate title for the piece.

I like the small stone in this setting as I think it conveys a sense of delicacy, making this a very feminine piece.

Until next time, aspire to be more as an artist and a person.

