Dignity and Strength
Treescapes
Photo by Daniel Krucoff

Trees hold a very special meaning for me. In a sense, they remind me of my father. With the landscape work he did in his lifetime, me tagging along and watching him work, well, it is only natural I think that I respect trees and what they add to the landscape that surrounds us.

This week, I have spent a great deal of time working on my Treescapes series. I am fascinated by the evolution of the work. They have taken directions I never imagined until I started to go more free form with them. The process is one of continual discovery for me. Over the next few weeks and even months, I will be unveiling more of these pieces.

I consider this one a real statement piece. Picasso Stone set in sterling silver with liver of sulpher oxidation. A 3mm orange garnet is set as an accent at the top. The outline of the tree on the right was one of my first departures with a tall, somewhat detailed tree. The Picasso Stone almost replicates the root system I imagine a large tree would have. The outline of the tree is supported by a copper overlay, because with that detail, the tree would have been unstable and may not have withstood being worn.

There’s so much symbology with trees.  This piece reminds me of the dignity and strength trees convey to me.

Until next time, aspire to be more as an artist and a person.

