Uncharted
Photo by: Daniel Krucoff

Over the last couple of months, I have been experimenting, exploring and just trying some new diversions. This pendant is one of the results.

It doesn’t necessarily fit in a particular series; actually, I have a number of new works that don’t fit into any one series…they’re all diversions and experiments.  I’ve felt this pull to just see what would happen if I try this or that.

When I designed this one, my goal was to begin a departure from my Veracity series.  I have a number of heart shaped stones, which I felt would find their way into Veracity.  Yet, I had this unsettled feeling about continuing with that series.  So I started to search through my heart shaped stones and pulled a few.  This beautiful Ocean Jasper was one that made it to the top of the pile.

I really liked the idea of replicating a few of the circles from the stone as accents to the setting.  I think the domed copper discs compliment some of the coppery circles in the stone.  It was a fun technique to incorporate and I am looking forward to doing more things like this in future works.  I also wanted to stay away from the temptation to follow the shape of the heart when it came to the shape of the setting.

Perhaps the unsettled feeling I have is just a sign of another growth period in my work.  I hope so because I know that means good things are coming.

Until next time, aspire to be more as an artist and a person.

