February’s  topic from our Blog-o-Sphere Think Tank is Who has had the greatest influence in your life?

Profound.  I’m pretty sure I have a top 10, probably a top 5 that are the superstars for me.  All are important and I am grateful for their influence.  The ones I mention in the post are in no particular order; each one has touched my life in their own unique way.

Definitely my parents were a huge influence in my life.  How could they not?  My mom raised me to be a strong, independent woman.  Instilling the belief that there wasn’t anything I couldn’t do if I put my mind to it and worked hard.  My dad, for never limiting me because I was a girl.  If I wanted to learn about a car engine, he happily described the parts and mechanics.  Both of them ingrained in my personality the importance of a strong work ethic, by their actions and their words.

I have to give kudos to the many teachers who challenged & encouraged me.  One who had the greatest impact was Mr Martin, my 9th grade Algebra teacher.  I still remember the first day of his class.  He told us everyone could be good at math and he expected all of us to raise our hands to answer questions.  It became one of the most exhilarating classes I had that year and led to my love of math.  That was the first year I got straight As.  I think the overachiever in me grew and thrived on the rewards of studying.

There’s been a variety of personalities, that I have never met, but admired.  Kate Hepburn.  Her fierce independence and wonderful sense of style.  I’ve started to read one of her autobiographies and have been fascinated by the public persona she developed and groomed vs. the private soul only intimates knew.  Another is Steve Jobs.  His brilliance and creative spirit have given the world such intelligent devices that make my life so much easier.

Then there is my sister, Lexi Erickson.  She too falls into the category of those great teachers in my life, but there’s more than that, it’s that bond we share.

I couldn’t leave this topic without including my soul mate, Dan.  His influence is great.  A kind gentle spirit with wisdom beyond his years.  He is my rock and keeps me centered.

There you have it.  I couldn’t name just one as the greatest influence in my life.  I guess that just confirms that we are the sum of the parts.  I am a composite of all I have seen, heard and done.  I think that’s wonderful.   I know that I will continue to grow and be influenced by many individuals….awesome.

Let’s see what my fellow blog-o-sphere think tank friends have said on this topic:

pencilfox: http://www.astorynonetheless.blogspot.com
Andes Cruz http://www.andescruz.wordpress.com
Stephanie Nocito Clark http://thethinkingsofacoldweathergirl.blogspot.com/
Renée Dolling http://www.floatinglightsphotography.com/blog
WATTO http://www.wattoonline.com/news

Until next time, aspire to be more as an artist and a person.

