Snowy Butte
Treescapes
Photo by: Daniel Krucoff

Another from my Treescapes series, inspired by the imagery in the Dendritic Opal stone. There are a number of interesting butte formations close to us. I actually found one called Chalk Butte that looks a great deal like the formation in this stone.  Yet with all the white, this one just reminded me of how things look after a fresh snow fall, so I call this Snowy Butte.

This stone is another I bought from Mark Lasater of The Clamshell.  The oxidation provided an even more colorful backdrop for the sterling silver setting.  I love the bluish tint in the upper left hand corner; a bit of an extension of the ‘sky’.  I carried the shrubs into the top of the setting with some piercings for the branches and texture.  Continuing to experiment with the look and feel of these, I added a small silver ball to the frame too.

Until next time, aspire to be more as an artist and a person.

