It’s that time of year again.  A number of my fellow artist bloggers, such as Lori Landis & Wendy Edsall-Kerwin,  are reviewing what was accomplished in 2011 and what they plan to do in 2012.  I find myself in the same place; reflecting on 2011, thinking about 2012.  This has been a difficult post for me to write.  In part, I think, because it requires self-evaluation.

At the end of 2010, I wrote a post about my thoughts and feelings as 2011 drew near.  What is it about a new year?  The anticipation of what lies ahead?  A clean slate?  A chance to improve?  I think there are many answers.

Now 2011 draws to a close and I find myself reflecting on the events that took place this year.  In 2011, my plan was to be fully engaged in all aspects of my life.  That was my personal mantra whenever I needed that extra push.  This concept of a personal word or phrase is something Christine Kane introduced in her blog, which I started following several years ago.

For 2012, I have chosen adaptability as my personal word.  I selected the word, adaptability, because this year taught me that being fully engaged may not be the best course…at least not for me.  I found I took on too many things and as a result, some of the joy I find in what I do got lost.  At times, I started to feel a bit robotic; I was just going through the motions.  Time blurred.  Summer was gone and I don’t remember enjoying it.  Connections felt lost or distant.  Life was passing by and I was missing out on too many things.  Going forward, I knew things had to change.

This year taught me many valuable lessons.  In that learning process, I found I needed to change how I was juggling all my tasks.  I think it is important to adapt and make changes to pursue what works.  Recognize what doesn’t work and let go of it.  The ability to respond effectively to the inevitability of change is both desirable and necessary.  Adaptability helps to ensure our happiness and well-being.

When I think about evolution, the importance of being adaptable to ones surroundings is paramount.  The alternative can be extinction.  I see adaptation as one way to avoid being stagnant.

I am thankful for all the learning experiences I had this year.  I gained so much from them.  From the shows, I found a new gallery and several holiday markets.  I gained insight and understanding about where I want to take my business in the coming year.

So how does this apply to my work?  That’s easy!

  • I’ve begun a new series that I call Treescapes.  I feel I’ve just touched the tip of the iceburg with this one.
  • I have more ideas for the evolution of my Arts & Crafts Impression series.
  • I’ve already started to adapt and modify my business plan for 2012.  A few more galleries, a few less shows.

You see, the ability to adapt leads to necessary changes and growth for me.

As part of that new mantra, I’ve just redesigned my website.  A new look, for a new year and a new vision.

What word or phrase do you feel will help you in 2012?  I hope you will share your thoughts.

May 2012 bring adaptability, light and love to all of us.

Until next time, aspire to be more as an artist and a person.

