Believer
Photo Credit ~ Daniel Krucoff

I have read numerous opinions about artists donating their work. I have done so in the past. As a result, I have formed my own opinion about when I will donate a piece of my work.

When I was approached to donate a piece for an art benefit being held for my friend Tracey Clarke, there was no hesitation. It had been my hope that her friends on the east coast would put something like this together for her and they had. I was happy to contribute in my own way, because I could not be their in person to show my support.

You see, Tracey & I met through an online group, Art Scuttlebutt, a number of years ago. We admired each others work and a friendship developed, which continues to grow.

Earlier this year, I approached Tracey to do a portrait of our Newt. She agreed and that lovely portrait hangs in my studio today.

In August, something happened…Tracey was diagnosed with glioblastoma, a very aggressive form of brain cancer. She had three cluster tumors removed and is undergoing treatment. You can read about her journey here.  Her courage, grace, faith and poise through this battle have added to the many things I admire about her.

This Saturday, November 5th, will be the artist fund raiser to help raise money for her to offset the medical expenses she and her husband are incurring.  My donation of Believer is just one small way I can offer help to a gifted friend.

Believer is one of my acid etched sterling silver pieces.  I love Celtic crosses and felt this one would hold lots of meaning for the person who will eventually wear it.  The liver of sulpher patina came out very colorful and to protect it, I applied a light coating of Renaissance Wax.  Dan said that this piece had a nice look of being from ancient times because of the patina I applied.  I wanted that, something reminiscent of the Crusades.  A symbol of faith.

I must tell you I am very careful when I donate a piece, but this is one where I leapt at the chance to help.  If you live in the Fredericksburg VA area, I hope you can attend this benefit.

There is something very special about the artist community.  I am meeting more wonderful people, willing to help and contribute in so many ways.

Yes, there are times when donating a piece of your work carries a very special, heartfelt meaning.  May Believer bring funds that are needed and joy to its wearer.

Until next time, aspire to be more as an artist and a person.

