Do you find yourself discovering new paths every day?

I find that I am and it gives me a great sense of renewal.

Every day is a gift.  What we do during that 24 hour span is our choice.  Free will.  Some days are squandered.  Some days are tremendously productive.

I think that Steve Jobs passing last week has given me even more introspective reflection and a hunger, thirst to make every day count.  Sometimes, that may not be completely possible, yet I believe it is vitally important.  None of us know how much time we have here.   Our words and actions may have an impact or influence on those we meet each day.  We may never know or one day someone may share that something we did had a positive impact on them.

Do you think Steve Jobs fully realized his impact on our lives?  Maybe he did to some degree, but I cannot help but think that he may not have realized the full extent his innovations and insights had on our daily existence.  Personally, I believe his influence will be felt for many, many years.

I know I am on a Discovery path.  Coming off of the Jewelry at the Gardens event last weekend, seeing all the creative spirits there, I am inspired to continue to grow even more as an artist.  That growth will bring about new revelations for me and where I will take my work.

The photo at the top of this post shows a few of the Dendritic Opal stones I purchased from Mark & Christa Lasater of The Clam Shell last month at the Denver Gem & Mineral Show.  When I first saw these, a idea for a new series started to flicker in my mind’s eye and then the floodgate of designs opened.  Not a single design has been sketched, but I can clearly see what I will be doing.

Discovery.  The possibilities.

Do you hunger for this sense of Discovery in your life?  I hope you will share your thoughts on this topic.  For me this sense of Discovery is part of what makes humans so complex, unique, and interesting.  If you haven’t found that hunger in your lives, I encourage you to do so.

Until next time, aspire to be more as an artist an a person.

