The Spirit Beckons
Veracity
Photo Credit ~ Daniel Krucoff

On this quiet Sunday morning, I find myself reflecting on the events of the past few weeks.  The shows, talking with supporters of the arts, discussing art with fellow artists, the solicitations to participate in future shows, preparations for Jewelry at the Gardens, quiet time with Dan & the bassets….good stuff.

This morning I finally got back to reading The Simple Abundance and this quote struck me:

Expect your every need to be met, expect the answer to every problem, expect abundance on every level, expect to grow spiritually.” ~ Eileen Caddy

Managing expectations is very important.  I find it keeps life on an even keel.  My preference to to remain calm, centered.  Managing ones expectations contributes to staying focused….at least it does for me.

I thought this new piece from Veracity is a nice compliment to my reflective mood this morning.  I call it The Spirit Beckons because of the spirit figure I see in this stone….as if a long, feathery arm is stretching out, beckoning one to come and follow.  It’s a positive sign.  I also see a shadowy mountain in the background of the landscape within this stone.  The stone, Porcelain Jasper, from Ken Brittain of Rogue Gems.   I discovered Ken’s work this year and I have become a fan.

Continuing to use copper as an accent in my work, as I find copper adds warmth and brings a certain depth to a piece.  In this pendant, I think the copper and sterling combination definitely accentuate the hues in the stone colorations.

Time for me to head back to my bench and get to work.

Until next time, aspire to be more as an artist and a person.

