My Studio

This past weekend was our inaugural Open Studio Tour. I was very happy to be a part of this first year and I am looking forward to next year, as more artists will join us for the tour.

I thought it would be fun to share some of what the visitors to my studio saw.

The top photo shows my main work areas, along with some of the artwork displayed above my bench.  I have posters from the Jewelry at the Garden shows (past and upcoming), along with a signed poster from this year’s Colorado Metalsmith Conference presenters.  As you can see my bench is just a short distance from my soldering station.  Good lighting is a must for me.


Displays with Completed Works

As people entered our home, I had displays set up with some of my completed pieces. I had an email sign up sheet, along with some metalsmithing books and one of my sketch books. This allowed people to get a feel for some of my work and if they were so inclined, they could purchase a piece and become a collector!  I could tell people really enjoyed leafing through the sketch book and I had one completed piece next to the original sketch.


My Bench

The real heart of the studio is my bench. I had several works in progress and was able to demonstrate how I would cut out designs with my saw.  Oh yes, and look at those wonderful hammers on my peg board.  Nice!  Even if I do say so myself.


My Soldering Station

I was more than willing to demonstrate soldering, but it seemed like everyone one had a fairly healthy respect for the torch. I hope that next year I will be able to fire up my torch and show everyone what it does.  I am the only one in the world with this purple soldering station and lazy susan that holds my fire brick.  If you want a soldering station (offered in neutral tan), contact Lexi through her website….safety in a metalsmith’s studio is worth it and a definite must!


More tools

The rolling mill,  in the lower left hand corner of this photo, drew lots of attention. I had a few things set up to show how I texture with both the rolling mill and the use of my anvil with hammers.  The dapping blocks garnered a few oohs and aahs too. There are so many aspects to metalsmithing that I couldn’t demonstrate everything, yet I feel like a was able to provide some insights about what goes into creating my works.  A few more sketch books to view, along with some of the recently acquired stones from the Denver Gem & Mineral Show.


Inspiration Wall

My collection from some of my favorite artists. Every time I’m in the studio I look at these works. I find it both comforting and inspirational. Here you can see the works of Don Michael Jr, Tracey Clarke, Karen Phipps, Deborah Younglao, my very own Daniel Krucoff, Shiela Tajima-Shadle, and Linda Steider….friends and fellow artists.

Considering where we live, I feel like we had good attendance for both days of the tour.  I cannot say enough good things about Nancy Bonig, who is not only a gifted and talented glass artist, but one of the hardest working, driving forces I have ever met.  Without Nancy’s efforts, this tour would never have gotten off the ground.  I am so thankful to call Nancy a very dear friend.  I can only imagine where the tour goes from here.

Dan was, as Nancy likes to say, my handsome assistant for both days.  I am so very appreciative of his help this past weekend; could not have done this without him.

I hope you enjoyed this glimpse into my studio and maybe next year, those of you who live close to us will have a chance to visit me and the other artists participating in the tour.  Bring your friends and family as it’s a great opportunity to discuss art with the artists.

Until next time, aspire to be more as an artist and a person.

