Etched Sterling Cuff Bracelet
Photo Credit ~ Daniel Krucoff

Well, it’s almost here. Castle Rock Artfest. This Saturday and Sunday. Our weather is supposed to be nice and I’m ready. The car is packed with my displays. We set up today and bring our works on Saturday morning to complete our booth.

I worked on several new series for this show.  Over the past few months as I’ve been preparing for my fall schedule of events, I have had lots of thoughts on art.  I’ve had a chance to interact with many of my metalsmithing friends and colleagues.  I have this feeling that I’ve just started to scratch the surface of what I want to do and who I want to be as an artist.  It’s exciting and I’m looking forward to the roller coaster ride that is coming.

Why do we create?  What drives us?  I have loved working with my hands all my life.  I’ve mentioned that I was never one to color inside the lines and to a certain degree, I’m still that way.  I’ve read many blog posts about why artist make their art.  I’m left with the impression that those who truly love to create, love to make art in their medium, well….it is a passion.  A zest for life, creating something that is an expression of who they are, what they feel, and an extension of themselves.  I feel that passion in creating.  I get that passion as I work.  I need that passion in my life because it makes me feel alive, complete, whole.

I thought I would share a few of those new pieces that will debut at Castle Rock this weekend.  I hope they speak to their new collectors and will find their homes.  I hope they convey the passion that I feel about metalworking.


The Storm
Veracity
Photo Credit ~ Daniel Krucoff

Until next time, aspire to be more as an artist and a person.

