Heart Stones

These heart shaped stones are waiting for their settings.

Even though I haven’t done many posts recently about the pieces I am working on, I definitely have been sitting at my bench pin sawing metal in preparation for fabrication, drawing sketches in my sketch books, hand finishing the metal in preparation for assembly, among other things.

I’ve been internalizing a lot of thoughts about my work.  That has helped me to begin to understand the direction I want to go and what steps I need to take to get there.  I firmly believe it is not so much about the destination, but the journey that takes us there.

There was a time in July when I had taken on too many things.  I guess I had kept saying “Yes, I’ll do that” and then my lists of tasks and responsibilities were growing.  The realization that I was trying to do too much hit.  Thanks to my wonderful husband, Dan, he encouraged me to put boundaries on my time.  Fortunately I was able to take several steps back and begin to work at my pace again.  One of the things that started to happen, because I was trying to do too much, was I was losing the joy of doing the things I loved.  Not good.

You see, when whatever you do is no longer fun, what is the point of doing it?  I had reached the point where the joy was gone from exercising, working, making art… I was just going through the motions….it almost felt mechanical…..well that just had to stop.  It has.  Not only am I managing my time better, but I’m managing my tasks better.  I have a long way to go, but I am very happy to report that the joy has returned.  If something doesn’t get done, it just waits until I can get to it.   One exception here….the bassets don’t wait to be fed….they get fed on time.  They’re funny about that…..

So yes, this beautiful collection of hearts, along with a few others that didn’t make the photo, are waiting.  It really is a quite simple principle.  Everything will get done in due time. I have their designs complete.  The setting for each one is cut out and ready for the next step.  All of these will be part of my Veracity Series and I will have a few at the Castle Rock Artfest September 10 – 11.  Check out their website for more details and I will mention a bit more about it too as the dates draw near.

When the hearts are completed, Dan will take photos of them, and I will be posting the stories behind a certain few.  With this series, I’ve also started to assign serial numbers to them that are stamped on the back.  Lexi suggested doing this because it is something Harold does.  Each piece is unique, why not begin documenting them?

Have any of you face similar situations, taking on more than one should?  If so, what solutions have you found?  I’d enjoy hearing your approach.

Until next time, aspire to be more as an artist and a person.

