Normally my Friday blog posts relate to Talkin’ Tools.  This week I wanted to start a new discussion covering my thoughts on art and the creative process.  I won’t abandon my Talkin’ Tools segments on Fridays, but I want to mix in something new by discussing Thoughts on Art.

As I sit here, writing this, my thoughts are of an online artist friend, Tracey Clarke.  While I have never met Tracey in person, she is my friend and I am blessed to know her.  A little over two weeks ago, Tracey had an onset of some symptoms which ultimately resulted in brain surgery to remove a cluster of 3 tumors.  Yesterday, 8/11/2011, she and her husband received the pathology report and prognosis.  Glioblastoma Multiforme.  It is an aggressive form of brain cancer and they have a long battle in front of them.  Her husband, Craig, has written about Tracey’s journey since the onset and I would encourage you to follow her journey and more importantly, include them in your prayers.

So now I think it is fitting to have my first post on Thoughts on Art to mention Tracey Clarke, a talented, gifted painter and her husband Craig.

Tracey’s encouragement helped me to apply for some shows and things I hadn’t planned on.  My work was published in a book because of a lead she provided.  And I am happy to own two of her original works…the one that is dearest to me is the portrait she completed this year of our Newt.

Tracey’s portrait of Newt, me and Newton in the ‘fur’

I have always believed that things happen for a reason.  I know that Tracey and Craig believe this too.  This daunting challenge they face has me wondering why?  Why has this happened?  The answer will be made known in time.

Until next time, aspire to be more as an artist and a person…..you never know what challenges life has in store for you.

