Lucas “Low-Boy”

This little beauty is a foot controller manufactured by Lucas Dental Equipment.  It is attached to my Foredom Flex Shaft and works like a dream.  It was a Christmas gift from my dear sister Lexi this past year.  I was delighted; thanks again Lex!  I had this on my tool wish list for well over a year.

The first time I saw one of these was in Lexi’s studio.  She told me about the benefits of having a variable speed control pedal that would allow you to start out slower than any other foot controller.  It definitely gives you great control as you work with your flex shaft or dremel.

The foot controllers that come with Flex Shafts don’t let you start at the very slow revolutions per minute (rpm) like this one does. There are times when you really need a delicate touch to start working on something you are fabricating.  This pedal fits the bill!

If you Google this, you find lots of positive feedback about the quality of the device.  And I am one who will chime in that this is a great addition to your metalsmithing studio.

This is the ad that Lucas runs and I thought I would share for those of you may be interested in adding this gem to your studio.  I think you’ll be very happy you did.

Until next time, aspire to be more as an artist and a person.