My Perfect Ten
Photo Credit ~ Daniel Krucoff

On May 26th, Dan & I will celebrate our 10th wedding anniversary.  Time flies when you are having fun and we definitely are!  He is my best friend and soul mate.  It has been 10 of the happiest years of my life.  In honor of this very special occasion, I created this ring for myself.  It is My Perfect Ten.

I spent yesterday working with Lexi in her studio.  We had a great day; we always do.  I have wanted to make a spinner ring for a few months now and had everything prepared, including my first piece of 18kt gold!  Whew, I worked with gold for the first time yesterday…that’s a milestone for me in my metalwork.

Over the weekend, I worked on the various components for this ring.  I knew I wanted a thicker band and this one fits my index finger.  I textured the band with my favorite hammer mark pattern…so simple….and for me that adds elegance.  The darker rings around this band are sterling that I textured in a slightly different way.  I oxidized those so they would showcase the center gold band.

I wanted to keep the gold ring plain.  It will get those little bumps and nicks with wear and I’m ok with that.

The fun part of this ring is the three outer bands spin.  Now I’m not one of those who likes to fidget with their jewelry, but this whole concept of spinning rings appealed to me.

The hardest part was soldering gold for the first time.  Pretty nervous about putting a flame to gold when it costs close to $1,500 an ounce and this little 3″ 15 gauge gold wire I had ran almost $90! 

Must be very careful and do not melt it!

Lexi being the wonderful teacher that she is, told me what to do.  I took a deep breath, attempted to light her torch which I had great difficulty doing all day (I guess I’m used to my striker) and whoosh, the torch was lit.  At this point, I think Lexi may have lit it for me because I just for the life of me could not manage it.  So here I go, applying the flame to the join, watching, watching (probably holding my breath) and whoop, there she goes!  The solder melted, flowed and up that join it went, sealing the ring closed.  I turned off the torch.  I looked at it in marvel.  Yes, I’ve soldered many things, but this time, I soldered GOLD and I did not melt it.  I blinked a couple of times…as silly as it may seem, I felt tears and heard Lexi’s calming voice behind me, “It’s okay, you don’t have to cry, you did it”.  I tear up just thinking about it now.

Lots of emotions in this piece for many reasons.  A symbol of the love Dan & I share.  A symbol of my best friend, mentor and sister Lexi.  Both reinforce my belief that all things are possible with commitment, dedication and hard work.  Both believe in me.  How blessed am I?

My Perfect Ten.

Until next time, aspire to be more as an artist an a person.

