Silver Brush Monaco Artist Travel Case

Following up on last week’s Talkin’ Tools post about The Perfect Tool Bag, this week I want to share a couple of Artist Travel Cases I have and why I think they are great for protecting tools as you travel to and from a workshop.

I’m sure you noticed this one is a lovely shade of purple. It is the Silver Brush Limited Monaco, available at Dick Blicks in two sizes and three color variations. This little beauty was a birthday gift from my dear sister, Lexi.  She’s very thoughtful.  I eluded to this case in last week’s Talkin’ Tools segment because it fits perfectly in the canvas tool bag I have.  Of course, Lexi got mine in purple and she also got one for herself in her favorite color red!

I believe the original intent for this case is for painters to hold their brushes and a small assortment of their paints. However, it also works great for the metalsmiths, holding files, pencils, pens, burnishers, etc. In this picture, you can see that I use the clear vinyl pouch to store my sandpapers.  This case accommodates a nice variety of your tools and keep things secure as you travel.  I like the fact that it is a slim case and it fits nicely in my canvas tote.


A Perfect Fit

Mine is 12″ x 6″ x 1 1/4″ and it fits as snug as a bug in my canvas tote.  The larger size that Dick Blick carries is 15″ x 8″ x 2″.


Santa Fe Travel Tote

About a year ago, I purchased this Santa Fe Travel Tote from Jerry’s Artarama. Even though it was designed for painters to carry their tools of the trade, I thought it would work well for keeping things organized as I traveled to Lexi’s for classes or other workshops.  Lexi liked mine so well, that I gave her one like this for her birthday this year.  She has used it for packing up some of her gear for the workshops she teaches.  Pretty cool!

There’s some serious room inside of this case.  It’s 15″ x 7 3/4″ and certainly competes with the larger Silver Brush tote.  The case has a zippered closure and I don’t over pack it, but it does expand nicely to accommodate most of the tools I need when I travel.

Next week I’ll return to discussing the actual tools that I use in my metalsmithing work.  However, I really wanted to share what I use to transport my tools as it’s just as important to have quality travel cases to protect your tool investments.

Until next time, aspire to be more as an artist and a person.

