I am delighted to announce that I have been accepted as one of the artists for the Front Range Open Studios Tour this fall.  The event will take place on the weekend of September 17th & 18th from 10 AM – 6 PM on Saturday and from 10 AM – 5 PM on Sunday. Rest assured I will post reminders and more details as we get closer to the dates.  In the interim, if you ‘Like’ Front Range Open Studios Facebook page, you’ll receive updates on what our plans are.

To my surprise, one of my Mountainesque pieces, Uncharted Territory,  is featured as the artwork for the poster too!  Whoot!  I am truly honored and humbled to have been selected as part of this group of artists whom I consider to be very talented and gifted.

The first Art Hop of the season will take place tomorrow night, Thursday, May 19th from 5 PM to 8PM at The Gallery Center, 366 Second Street, Suite C, Monument CO.  I will be there with several of my fellow participating artists to discuss the upcoming open studios tour and provide a preview of some of our work.

One of the goals of the open studio tour is to show the public the working artist studios located in the Tri-Lakes Area which includes Larkspur, Palmer Lake, Monument, Gleneagle and Black Forest.  During the open studio tour, each artist will demonstrate the process of creating their art, including materials, tools, special procedures.  It should prove to be very informative.

Initially, I was approached by Nancy Bonig, who is a glass artist that I greatly admire, to apply for this event.  I am touched and thankful that Nancy liked my work so much that she thought of me and asked me to apply.  The rest is history now and I’m so excited that my work was juried into this tour.  I believe this is a great opportunity.

I am looking forward to demonstrating my process as I create my art jewelry.  Over the past year, Lexi & I have discussed the importance of educating people about how we create our work.  This tour will provide a wonderful way to see where we work & create, the tools used in our craft, what inspires us, and more.  We recognize why there is “sticker shock” at times for a certain piece of our work.  We feel it’s incumbent upon us as artists to help educate the public about why a piece of our work costs more than the trinkets you can purchase at the large box stores.  I’m just saying!  Do you want to buy something of quality and craftsmanship, with a bit of the artist’s soul in it, or something that’s just crunched out by machines?  Big difference, Huge, ok, CAVERNOUS!  🙂  I’m more than a little passionate about this topic, can you tell?

There may be some challenges to get to my studio, as there are detours and road construction out where I live and that may deter some, but I hope it won’t.  I can promise those who venture to my studio, they will not be disappointed and I will be very happy to discuss what I do and show a variety of aspects that go into creating my art jewelry.  Plus you will get to see some of my finished work, maybe even a new series!  Well worth the price of admission, which is FREE by the way.

For now, I hope those of you who live in the area, maybe you can find some time to check out the first Art Hop of the 2011 season, stop by The Gallery Center and say Hi!  I’m certain there will be lots of beautiful work to admire.

Until next time, aspire to be more as an artist and a person.

