Ginkgo Branch
Arts & Crafts Impressions
Photo Credit ~ Daniel Krucoff

I’d like to start this post with wishing everyone a very Happy Mother’s Day.  It is a beautiful, sunny spring day here in Colorado and I hope many of you are able to be out and about, enjoying this day with friends and family.

Ginkgo Branch is a pendant in my new Arts & Crafts Impressions series.  I am happy to report that the new series was well received last weekend at the Arts & Craft’s Society’s Gathering of the Guilds at the Boettcher Mansion.  My Ginkgo earrings were my most popular item and I sold several pairs.  For me, that is a wonderful affirmation of my work.

I thoroughly enjoyed participating the the Gathering of the Guilds.  The people were well informed and interested in learning about each craft-person’s technique.  A few asked me to explain my process for creating the ginkgo leaf earrings I had.  It’s nice to be able to discuss your process with interested parties.

Since I described a bit of my process last weekend at the event, I thought you may enjoy that discussion in this post. Each Ginkgo leaf, in any of these pieces is different.  I cut out a myriad of them as I was working on earrings or pendants as you can see in this photo.

Thank goodness I have that great KnewConcepts saw!  With as tiny as these were, I’ll take all the tool assistance I can find.  In this photo, the leaves have the line textures.  The penny is shown as a point of reference for the size of the leaves. Prior to hammering line textures on these, I had sanded each piece to have a nice smooth, clean surface to accept the textures.

Once the textures were applied, I took each leaf and shaped it using one of those Fretz mini-stakes I discussed in a previous Talkin’ Tools segment.

For the branches, I used Sterling Silver wire.  I did little light forging on the wire ends to flatten them out a bit and shape them.

I soldered the branches together first and then soldered the leaves in place.  The entire process of building these pieces had a series of experiments to figure out what worked best and in what sequence.  It does require pre-planning and forethought before you start putting the components together.


Simply Ginkgo
Arts & Crafts Impressions
Photo Credit ~ Daniel Krucoff

These little earrings are just fun and make me smile.  They have lots of movement and are very light weight.  I thought you’d enjoy seeing some of the earring variations in this series.  I wanted to have a variety of earring styles that would mix & match well with any of the pendants I created.  I will share more of these in another post.

Until next time, aspire to be more as an artist and a person.

