Ginkgo Leaf Earrings
Arts & Crafts Impressions
Photo Credit ~ Daniel Krucoff

Today, I am debuting my new series, Arts & Crafts Impressions.  The Ginkgo Leaf Earrings pictured are the result of many experiments, learning experiences and more than a few frustrations that occurred during the creative process.  All signs of personal and artistic growth in my opinion.  I must say that I am very happy with the end results, along with a few other sneak peaks I will provide in this post.

This weekend, I will be participating in Colorado Arts & Crafts Society’s The Gathering of the Guilds at the Boettcher Mansion in Golden, Colorado.  This is the second year for this event and I am looking forward to being one of the participating artists.

The intent of The Gathering of the Guilds is to promote the ideals and aesthetics of the Arts and Crafts Movement produced by such local guilds as the Book Arts League, Castle Clay Artists, Colorado Calligraphers’ Guild, Colorado Metalsmithing Association, Colorado Woodworkers Guild, Friends of Dard Hunter, Guild of Book Workers, Handweavers Guild of Boulder, Red Rocks School of Fine Woodworking, and the Rocky Mountain Weaver’s Guild. Designed to be an interactive event, there will be featured demonstrations, presentations and/or workshops on the best craftsmanship in and around the Rocky Mountain region.

It became very important for me to explore an Arts & Crafts theme for this event.  I have always loved the simplicity and elegance that the Arts & Crafts movement represented.  To bring this into my work, proved to be a real design challenge for me.  As I have mentioned, I certainly had my share of failures as I worked on this, yet it was worth it.  I feel that I definitely experienced growth in my work and I am happy to provide a preview of some of the new art jewelry pieces that will be available on this coming Sunday, May 1st.

I’d also like to provide a little background about the Boettcher Mansion.  It was built in 1917 as a summer home and seasonal hunting lodge for Charles Boettcher.  The 110 acre estate is in the Arts & Crafts style located  in Golden, CO.  I’m looking forward to seeing this historic home.

I am happy to be one of the members representing Colorado Metalsmithing Association, along with my fellow metalsmiths Lexi Erickson and Pattie Parkhurst.  Lexi, Patty & I will be demonstrating metalsmithing techniques, along with offering some of our works for sale. 

The admission is $5 and the event runs from 10 AM to 4 PM on Sunday. If you are in the area, I hope you will stop and take in all this event has to offer.

Here are a few of my new pieces in my new Arts & Crafts Impressions Series.

Geometrics Pendant
Arts & Crafts Impressions
Photo Credit ~ Daniel Krucoff

I have a mixture of the circles and the Ginkgo leaves in this series.  I was surprise at how difficult it was at times to create pieces with simplicity in mind.

My focus for this series was to work completely in metal. I used copper and silver combinations.  It was a pleasant surprise to see how much warmth and  interest copper added to the pieces. I was determined to make this series just about the metal, no stones, just metal.


Offset Circle Pendant
Arts & Crafts Impressions
Photo Credit ~ Daniel Krucoff

Again, my hat is off to Dan for the great photos he has taken of these new pieces. He really makes my work shine.

I have more pieces, but I wanted to provide a sneak peak and I will feature more of these in my posts over the next few weeks. Right now I’m hoping that I’ve peaked your curiosity about this new series and if you live in the Denver area, maybe this will entice you to come see my new works along with the work of other local artists.

Until next time, aspire to more as an artist and a person.

