Metalsmiths Essentials – How To Solder Jewelry

Look what came in the mail this week!  It’s Lexi’s new DVD on How to Solder Jewelry.  Great price too, only $29.95 for 95 minutes of instructions.  That’s less than the cost of a class!

Why am I writing about this in my Talkin’ Tools segment?  Well, I consider having educational DVDs (videos) an essential part of my tool collection too.  I have a modest library of instructional DVDs and I plan to feature some of them in the weeks to come.  They are a great reference for those times when:

  • I am trying to remember what a teacher said
  • How they actually did something in class
  • What was the tool they used for a certain technique or
  • I  am unable to enroll in a class but there is this artist that I REALLY want to take a class from and they have a series of instructional DVDs… I can study at my own pace and if I miss something, rewind and look at it again.  Bonus!

So this week I want to talk about Lexi’s DVD – Metalsmiths Essentials – How To Solder Jewelry available through Interweave.  I pre-ordered it on Monday and got it on Wednesday.  How is that for service from Interweave?  Pretty awesome.

It’s funny, I knew nothing about how to solder jewelry a couple of years ago.  I mistakenly thought because I knew how to solder stained glass, I also knew how to solder jewelry.  WRONG.  Two entirely different processes.  Just because you know how to do one, doesn’t mean you have a clue about the other.  With stained glass, you have a soldering iron.  With jewelry, you use a TORCH!  Must respect the TORCH.

So Lexi taught me how to solder jewelry.  I had the benefit of taking one of her workshops and enjoyed the hands on approach of a classroom setting.  She covered a semesters worth of lessons in a 2 day workshop.  Whew, it was one busy weekend, never a dull moment, and I loved every minute of it.   One of the most important things she showed us was how to safely solder using the big girl torch!  Whoooo Whaaaaa Whooooot!  Ok, it can be called the big boy torch too!  🙂

In this DVD, she starts with all the basics, including how to set up your tank, and moves you forward to learning the technique.  It’s a wonderful refresher course for those of us who know how to solder and it’s so beneficial to be able to watch her with her mastery of the torch and the flame.   There’s a reason why she earned the nickname “The Torch“!  She’s good, damn good.  Careful observation, watch & learn the technique grasshopper.   She discusses options.  Sure, there’s always more than one way to do something, but I recommend following her lead because she knows what she’s doing.

Her 25 years of teaching experience shines in this DVD.  So if you haven’t had a chance to benefit from Lexi’s teaching, this DVD gives you a great learning opportunity.  If you ever do have a chance to take one of Lexi’s classes, just DO IT!  I promise you, you will not be disappointed!  I have benefited from her mentorship.

I think the folks at Interweave are pretty smart cookies too for capturing Lexi’s talent on DVD, just in time for Mother’s Day gift giving too.

Until next time, aspire to be more as an artist and a person.

