Mountain De Fuego
Mountainesque Series
Photo Credit ~ Daniel Krucoff

Fuego, the Spanish word for Fire. This Sonoran Sunrise looked so fiery to me; it was as if the mountain in this stone was on fire. Sure, I considered Fire Mountain as its title, but that just didn’t do the piece justice in my mind. I liked the sound of Mountain De Fuego.

The stone is another one of those beauties from Gary B. Wilson.  It’s hard to miss the quality of Gary’s work.  As a matter of fact, I added more of his work to my inventory in the past week.  I’ve got some great ideas for the latest batch of stones.

Mountain De Fuego continues with the theme of the Mountainesque Series, where mountain shapes are carried into the setting.  It’s a big, bold piece with a lot of silver.  Yes, silver is continuing to rise in price.  Who really knows how high the price of silver will go and when it will seek its level like water.  One thing is for certain, something has to give.

I love using silver in my pieces. I’ve started to work some with copper and silver combinations and I do find the blending of the two to be quite attractive. Yet, I think you will find that I will continue to work with silver as I have.  At least that is my hope.

An added bonus with today’s post is Mountain De Fuego is being featured on Facebook by Kim Hatzold of Untamed Spirit Studios.  This is the second time Kim has given a shout out about my work.  She writes some great articles about stones, how people use them and more.  Consider becoming a fan of Untamed Spirit Studios, I am!  And check out more of Kim’s work on her website too.

Time to head back to the studio.  Until next time, aspire to be more as an artist and a person.

