Red Mountain
Mountainesque Series
Photo Credit ~ Daniel Krucoff

Another in my Mountainesque Series.  You know me, I see scenes in the stones. This stone is a beautiful, vibrant red jasper.  Another that I purchased from Gary B Wilson.

I designed this one in that moment of creative flow I experienced in January.  It was a very exhilarating.  Picking up one stone after another and just sketching away.  Sometimes it felt hard to keep up with all the imagery.  Do any of you experience that when you are in that zen moment of the creative zone?

To the left side of the stone, I see a side profile of a snow capped mountain.  It almost reminds me of some of those exquisite Japanese paintings of mountains.  A bit old fashioned.  Looking into the past.  I can assure you that the red in the stone is as rich and lush as the photo shows.  It truly is striking.  With all that red, it seemed that Red Mountain is the right title for this piece.

The surrounding sterling backplate has the ebb and flow of mountains to compliment the one I see in this stone.  I oxidized the sterling and polished all the little silver balls so they could stand out from the rest of the sterling.  If you look closely, you will see that this time I added a few holes to accompany the silver balls.

I’m continuing to work on this series, along with another series that is more in the Arts & Crafts style.  I hope to debut a few of those new pieces in another week or two.

Until next time, aspire to be more as an artist and a person.

 

 

