Keep Your Eyes on the Horizon
Mountainesque Series
Photo Credit ~ Daniel Krucoff

As 2011 began, I embarked on a new path to self discovery thanks to my dear sister and mentor Lexi Erickson, along with my own willingness to start this personal exploration. I suppose that my sound a bit funny or odd to some. However, one of my beliefs is that we must continue to grow and develop as a person throughout our lives. The last thing I want is to become stagnant or stuck in my ways. Thanks to Lexi, I started to read Simple Abundance by Sarah Ban Breathnach. I mentioned this in my last post of 2010.

The book Simple Abundance is comprised of a set of daily readings.  As with most of these types of books, some days really speak to me, others not so much.  The passage on February 24 really hit home.  Sarah writes:

“Set the sails.  Pull anchor.  Cast away.  Feel the wind at your back. Keep your eyes on the horizon.

Or stay on shore.

But choose.”

Well, I chose and my choice is the keep my eyes on the horizon, which is how I came up with the title for this piece in my Mountainesque Series.  It comes from what I see in the stone again.  A distant horizon.  Promise and hope await as it draws near.

The stone is a red jasper.  It actually is one that Lexi had in her collection and decided to sell.  I’m glad she did, it had been one of my favorites ever since she showed it to me.  Originally she had acquired it from one of our favorite stone cutters, Gary B Wilson.

Set in sterling silver and oxidized.  More mountain shapes surround this piece with a few tiny silver ball accents.

May you too be looking toward that horizon and making positive changes in your life.

Until next time, aspire to be more as an artist and a person.

