Harvest Moon
Soul Searching Series
Photo Credit ~ Daniel Krucoff

It’s the wrong time of the year for a Harvest Moon, yet I kept seeing this rich orange moon in the carnelian stone that is the top of this pendant. I almost thought this would be my first “Untitled Piece”, but that little voice in my head kept saying Harvest Moon. This one is part of my Soul Searching Series. It just fits.

The stones are from Gary B Wilson. The tongue is petrified oak. It’s a rich brown with a number of interesting variations. The top stone has already been named, it’s a carnelian in a lovely shade of rust/orange. This piece is very earthy and I guess that’s part of the reason why I couldn’t shake the title it has.

Set in sterling silver that I’ve oxidized. I’m very fond of these 2 piece pendants, connected by three jump rings.

Perhaps, as I think about the extra twilight lighting that the Harvest Moon provides, the concept of new beginnings resonates with me.  It revolves around that last day of summer in the Northern Hemisphere and the beginning of the autumn season that the Harvest Moon signals.

Those are my thoughts about this one and why it became part of my Soul Searching Series.

Until next time, aspire to be more as an artist and a person.

