Beginnings
Mountainesque Series
Photo Credit ~ Daniel Krucoff

There are times when all of us experience that feeling of “stuck”.  The block to our creative channel.  It’s frustrating.  When I have it, I refuse to move forward.  I know the right thing will come to me.  With this piece, I had the top figured out pretty much from the get go.  But that bottom portion of this one, taunted me for longer than I care to admit.  The design for Beginnings happened in that flurry of the creative spurt when Mountainesque became a series.  I knew I was on to something.  And I must give credit to the stone too as I FINALLY saw a mountain range in the lower stone that became the inverse of it in the metal.

That is why I call this one Beginnings.  It helped me along the way to the beginning of my Mountainesque Series.  The stones are copper with chrysocolla.  I purchased the lower stone a little over a year ago from Gary B Wilson.  In September of 2010, I bought some more of this from him and I suspect I will add more to my working inventory as I love the subtle colors and markings that copper with chrysocolla produces.  The stones are set in Sterling Silver that I oxidized, along with adding some silver balls as accents.  I still enjoy making these two piece pendants.  Part of me is fascinated by the construction process and I thoroughly enjoy the finished piece that has movement.  I’m also caught up in this new direction with mountains as my sirens.

I hope you enjoy yet another piece in my Mountainesque Series.

It’s still quite frigid here in Colorado, with snow, ice, and blustery winds.  If you live in the northern hemisphere, I hope you have found ways to stay safe and warm.  I am thankful for the comforts our home affords us in these severe weather conditions.

Until next time, aspire to be more as an artist and a person.

