Dare To Dream
Timeless Series
Photo Credit ~ Daniel Krucoff

The stone, Sonoran Sunrise. Bold, isn’t it? One of those beautifully crafted works of Gary B. Wilson.

I was working with Gary’s daughter, Jesse, when she sent photos of some of the Sonoran Sunrise stones they had in stock. Initially I had been looking at some smaller stones from their website. When Jesse sent the photo of this one (among other Sonorans), I was instantly drawn to it. Yet, I hesitated as I was looking for some smaller stones to work with. I showed Dan the pictures Jesse had sent me and he saw this one as said I should get it.

When it arrived, with a few others, I knew it was a great choice. I immediately grabbed my sketch book and started to dabble with ideas the stone provided. Here are some of the initial sketches.

The first one, on the upper left was more than a little wild.  I wanted to experiment.  I just knew it wasn’t the right concept for this stone.  I didn’t want to overpower the stone with an elaborate setting that took away from its inherent beauty.  The others in this series of sketches were inspired by some of Lexi’s work (How can I NOT be inspired by Lexi’s work???) and also the Corazon de Sante Fe (shown below).

Things just weren’t clicking for me.  And then, when I was working out on my bike, it came to me.  Isn’t it funny how ideas pop into our heads?

For whatever reason, I was still unsure about this design, so I thought I would let it ‘simmer’ for a bit.  When I picked up my sketch book a couple weeks ago and started to work on designs for this stone again, I kept coming back to this shape.  I showed the various designs to Dan and when he saw this one, he said that’s it!

So I began work on it, and the final result is pictured at the beginning of this post.  I used Sterling Silver for the setting, along with a small garnet that is set in the tube set to the upper right of the stone.  I shaped some square wire to form that ‘arch’ at the top of the piece.   I kept with my original idea to call this one Dare to Dream.  It is part of my Timeless Series and will be available at the Jewelry in the Gardens at Denver Botanical Gardens on October 16 -17.

Until next time, aspire to be more as an artist and a person.

