Serene
Timeless Series
Photo Credit ~ Daniel Krucoff

This was the stone that almost got away. In April, when Gary B Wilson and his family were in Denver for Rocky Mountain Bead Bazaar, I spotted this particular stone. In fact I wrote about it in my April 25th post. It is an Imperial Jasper and I was quite enamored with it.  If you’d like to read about how it entered my collection of stones, check that April 25th post.

I knew I wanted to keep the setting clean and simple for this stone; I just wanted to showcase its beauty.  I did extend some of the stone’s markings into the surrounding metal.  The setting is sterling silver, that is lightly oxidized.

It reminds me of a calm prairie with a few wisps of grass in the foreground.  So I felt the name Serene was appropriate.

This will be one of my pieces available at the Jewelry at the Gardens in Denver on the weekend of October 16 & 17.  I’m still working on pieces for that show and will have more to post in the upcoming days and weeks after Dan photographs them.

Until next time, aspire to be more as an artist and a person.

