Harmony
Timeless Series
Photo Credit ~ Daniel Krucoff

At the end of June, I posted some of my sketches and the stones I assembled for upcoming work. This is Harmony and was one of those in that June post.  The stones just seemed to come together in the right shapes and shades.  I kept things simple so that the stones were showcased.  The top and bottom stones are petrified wood and the center stone is a red jasper.  I thought they were the right compliment with each other and that is how I came to call this piece Harmony.  They are set in Sterling Silver that I have lightly oxidized.  I didn’t opt for texture or even a high polish on the silver for this piece.  I wanted the stones to make their own statement.

This is the first in a new series I’m calling Timeless.  As I post the next few in this series, I think it will become obvious why I settled on the theme of Timeless.  It is my hope that each piece in this series will stand on its own, no matter what the time period.

Harmony is one of my pieces that will be available at the Colorado Metalsmith’s show at the Denver Botanical Gardens in October.  That upcoming show is my current focus.  I’ve come up with a new display that isn’t your typical jewelry display for a show.  It’s still a work in progress and I will share pictures of it once it is  set up ‘real time’ at the Gardens.  For now, I’m still tweaking things to make sure it makes the right statement.  I am very excited about this show and feel it presents a great opportunity to introduce my metalwork to the public.

Back to the studio to start on a bracelet.  And yes I am very partial, but I think Dan’s photography of my work has gone to the next level.  Thank you Dan for making my work look so nice!

Until next time, aspire to be more as an artist and a person.

