Strength
Spirit Series
Photo Credit ~ Daniel Krucoff

Picasso Stones have moved to the top of my favorite list for drop dead, gorgeous stones. There is something classy & elegant about black/brown/white hues for me. Picasso Stones remind me of trees. And my Dad was a landscaper by trade and he taught me about the beauty trees have; respect them, nurture them. They have an innate strength.

I fell in love with these stones the minute I saw them at Gary B. Wilson’s booth this April when he and his wife, Kathy, and one of their daughters returned to Denver. I have a number of Picasso Stone beauties, but these, well, they would be mine.

Lately I have been thinking about my line of Art Jewelry. It is important to me that my jewelry convey an inner strength for its wearer. I don’t make dainty pieces. I like to think they reflect that bold, strong spirit of a woman who knows herself, what she wants from life, and she isn’t afraid to do what it takes to achieve her goals. Perhaps I’m revealing a bit of my inner self here.

These earrings symbolize Strength to me.  The courage to be an individual.  And you know what is great?  My husband loves and appreciates the qualities strong women possess.  How awesome is that?  Because I am one of those strong women.  And my closest friends are women who know themselves.  Fear is something to be conquered and pushed aside.  There’s no place in life for fear because it is the most destructive of emotions.  At least that is what I think and believe.

So I have taken these beautiful stones and done my best to showcase their beauty, their strength.  They are set in Sterling Silver.  I have added a bit of texture to let their tree like lines extend into the surface of the setting.  For the top, I’ve added a touch of 14kt Keum Boo as a compliment to the markings in the stone.  They have become part of my personal collection.

Until next time, aspire to be more as an artist and a person.  I am!

