Radiance

Photo Credit ~ Daniel Krucoff

I would like to begin this post with my hope that all of you are having a wonderful holiday season.  Dan & I have been enjoying our time with family and friends.  Plus, we’ve had some snow here in Colorado which gave us a white Christmas.

Today I finished this pendant.  Three hearts, of different metals, each with their own textures.  The biggest heart is brass, the middle heart is nickel silver, and the top is copper.  I added a light patina to the brass and the nickel silver to bring out some of the textured effects.  As I looked at this finished piece, it reminds me a bit of the sun and I’ve decided to call this one Radiance.  I think the warmth of the brass with the texture helped to create that effect for me too.

One of the things Lexi has taught me about making jewelry is how important it is to add movement to a piece.  People seem to be attracted to it and I know I certainly am.  These hearts have a lot of movement and make the slightest noise too.  It’s been a fun piece and I’m looking forward to doing more earrings and pendants where there are graduated shapes connected with a single element, like the jump ring here.

It’s so nice to get back to the bench and start working with metal again.  I took a bit of a break over Christmas, but now I’m looking forward to what 2010 holds and what new pieces I’ll create in both metal and my old favorite glass.  For my adventures in glass, you’ll need to visit my other blog, Reflections of a Glass Artist.

Until next time, aspire to be more as an artist and a person.

