Australian Atlantisite

Australian Atlantisite

Friday, September 18th, was my first visit to the Denver Gem & Mineral Show.  What an event!  It is overwhelming.  I had a great day and enjoyed the company of Lexi and her friends.

Thanks to Lexi I had a great opportunity to check out so many things and I believe my inventory of stone varieties will allow me to easily work on designs for the next year! It was fabulous.

I thought it would be best to share bits and pieces of my ‘finds’ at the show and I’m starting with the first cabochons I purchased.  These come from Australia and are called Atlantiste.   According to the card provided by the vendor,  Ausrox Gold, these stones are a mixture of purple stichtite in green serpentine.  I fell for the rich purple in these stones and thought the green was such a wonderful compliment to it.  I was tempted to purchase more than these two, but I knew it was the start of our morning of exploration and literally, the best was yet to come.

I’ll show some of my other purchases throughout the week and I am saving the best for last.  That comment isn’t meant to detract for these lovelies as I am very happy with them….it’s just that I couldn’t believe what came throughout the day and I really do want to share the best for last (in my opinion) in this series of posts about the show.

Fortunately, I was able to put everything into inventory today.  I photographed, labeled, packaged my stone selections so I can track what I use easily. I am looking forward to all the new art jewelry designs to come.  I hope you will enjoy sharing this journey with me.

Until next time, aspire to be all you can be as an artist and a person.

