CliffCarrollAnvil

This beautiful anvil is mine. I purchased it today, from Cliff Carroll’s Horseshoer’s Supplies in Larkspur, Colorado….just up the road from where I live. I couldn’t believe my good fortune.  It’s only 35 pounds and of course he makes bigger ones….hmmmm maybe one day.  I met Mr. Carroll, he is a delightful person and has been making anvils in Larkspur for 33 years.  Wow.  Who knew?  Well, not me.   I am so excited about this.  I have my first anvil and I think it is absolutely beautiful.  Mr. Carroll told me that he ships his anvils all over the world.  And these 35 pound ones are just right for art jewelry metalsmiths like myself.  He receives orders from Jewelry schools for these little beauties and he is familiar with a lot of the places around the world where metalsmithing classes are taught!

CliffCarrollAnvilTopView

My father taught me the importance of tools and I just love them.  Probably odd for a woman to be so enamored with tools, but I have been from a very early age. Thanks Dad!  And I have had the good fortune of meeting other women that appreciate their value too, like Lexi Erickson, Helen Driggs, and most of the female metalsmiths I’ve met or read about!  Cool.

What I find interesting is I have searched the web, been to farrier forums, metalsmiths forums, art jewelry forums, in my quest for an anvil over the past couple of months.  And just last week I was reading a post from an art jewelry designer/maker, who just got her Cliff Carroll anvil.  She was extremely impressed with the quality.  And I tucked that tidbit of information away, thinking this is a name I need to remember in my quest for the anvil.

Last night I searched the web for farrier suppliers in Colorado and ran across the url for Mr. Carroll’s website.  I clicked on the link and search through the anvils offered.  I do have my eye on one of the 70 pounders, but for now I thought, lets just stick to basics and a 35 lb. anvil should do nicely.  I’m looking for contact information, how to place an order, etc, and to my delight I see his business is in Larkspur.  That’s roughly 30 minutes from our house.  I called, spoke directly with him, and was so impressed with his knowledge and helpfulness.  He was going to be open on Saturday and yes I could stop by and purchase the anvil.  Yay!

As Dan & I drove up to the shop this morning, it fits the settings you find around Larkspur.  Mr. Carroll even commented that we would be surprised to find his three large buildings behind the main office where the actual manufacturing takes place.  Well, yes we would.  And that got me thinking, what a great article for Lapidary Journal!  Metal workers use anvils all the time.  Lapidary Journal writes articles about Cool Tools.  What could be better for the readership than an article about anvils and his are made right here in the USA.  I’ve mentioned all of this to Lexi today and she thinks a field trip is in order to Mr. Carroll’s place of business.  How exciting!

I’ll leave you with a copy of his business card and my wishes for a great day and week of creativity.  If you are in need of a quality anvil, Cliff Carroll’s anvils fit the bill!

Aspire to be more as an artist and a person.

CliffCarrollBusnCard

