HandMadeChainAt the start of this, I had no idea what went into the process.  I think I am approaching the completion of this piece and I am truly amazed at how long it has taken me.  Now there were some personal circumstances that hindered my ability to spend as much time on this as I normally would.  However, I may just be on this learning curve and it is taking me a lot of time.

Fortunately, I can give you an idea of where the chain is headed.  In my last post, I know a number of you could tell how much I loved these little leaves and wanted to incorporate them into the chain.  A fellow silversmith and blogger, Nicola Callow, suggested adding the leaves as links or making different solder points to keep the leaves.  My mentor, Lexi Erickson, suggested having the leaves as part of the main focal point.  Well, all of their suggestions added to what I thought I could do, and this is the result of having the leaves in this chain.  I still want to pursue Nic’s idea of having leaf chain links and that will be for another chain.  I hope I have the strength…or rather the time.  I think this necklace will be a cumulation of Nic, Lexi, and my take on things.

Right now I have to cut some more links that form the off center marquis shape for the double links between the oval links.  I am using square Argentium silver wire for those links and I’m adding some texture to them.  I’m certain there is a more efficient way to complete the stages that build the chain segments, but I haven’t figured that out yet.

I do think I will want to add a patina of some sort to this one.  JAX has a nice pewter patina that I will consider, or maybe I’ll just use good ole Liver of Sulpher gel.  I will post a picture of the finished chain.  When I take breaks from working on this piece, I have worked on a new design for earrings and a matching pendant…pictures to come.  And I’ve been working on glass too.

Hope you have enjoyed the journey of this piece so far.  Here’s wishing all of you a great week of creativity.  Remember, aspire to be more as an artist and a person!

