IMG_6784
Commissioned Pendant for Jerry McClure
Mammouth Bone set in Sterling Silver
with a Dash of Treescapes!
Photo ~ Daniel Krucoff

Friendship. It’s a two way street. Some friends are real friends, others are just acquaintances. This pendant is one of the few commissions I will do, in part, because a true friend, Jerry McClure asked me if I would.

Jerry and I have known each other for a number of years.  He likes to call me ‘kid‘ and that just makes me smile because it is said with affection.  He has been married to his wife, Sandy, for over 40 years and they embody a marriage of trust, friendship and love.  He likes to tell people his just a “Dumb ole Oakie” (he’s from Oklahoma), but I can tell you nothing is further from the truth.  He’s as sharp as they come, has great business savvy, and what’s most important is Jerry LOVES to help other people succeed.  He has helped me and countless others.  I maintain his website, Jerry McClure Knives.  He is one of the most generous people I have had the pleasure to meet and call my friend.

In addition to all of that, Jerry is a very talented knifemaker. He would tell you that his work is “just alright“. I get that. But let me show you a few examples of Jerry’s work which speak for themselves.  Jerry will have these knives with him at the Professional Knifemakers Show in Denver next weekend.

.

P7083675

P7083676

Clearly, the proof his talent is in the work. Jerry strives to get better with every piece he makes. I so admire that quality in him. And I am blown away when he tells me that he likes my work, because, you see, I strive to reach Jerry’s level of craftsmanship. If I ever do, well, let me tell you, Jerry will still be light years ahead of me.

It’s not a race, it’s not a competition, it’s just two friends who respect each other and admire their respective works. What Jerry does is motivate and give me incentive to be better. So while I don’t do many commissions, due to the constraints on my time, when Jerry asks, I do my best to say “Yes!”. I don’t want to let Jerry down.

Now, here’s some great news if you live in Colorado. Next weekend Jerry will be at the Professional Knifemakers Association Custom Knife Show. Friday through Sunday, August 16 – 18. The show’s location is Crowne Plaza – DIA 15500 E. 40th Ave, Denver Colorado (I-70 at Chambers Rd. Exit 283). Jerry and fellow knife makers/vendors will be in the John Q Hammons Center.  If you click the link above, you can find out more details about the show.   As an added incentive, here is a free admission pass to the show:

pass

Last year was the first year Dan & I went to this event.  We really enjoyed it and I loved finding new materials to use in my work.  We plan on going again this year.  I’m really looking forward to it.

I hope you can go to the show, if you do, please stop by and say Hi to Jerry…….  oh yes….be sure and tell him Kathleen sent you!

Until next time aspire to be more as an artist and a person.

